Author Biographical Info

The Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission (ABCC) was formed after the bombings on Hiroshima and Nagasaki on August 6 and August 9, 1945. On November 18, 1946, President Harry Truman authorized the National Research Council to establish the organization “to undertake long range, continuing study of the biological and medical effects of the atomic bomb on man.” Key members of the ABCC included Lewis Weed, Austin M. Brues and Paul Henshaw, physicians from the National Research Council, and Army representatives Melvin A. Block, and James V. Neel. By the time the ABCC arrived in Japan on November 24, 1946, the Japanese had already started studying the effects on both immediate and delayed atomic bomb damage in survivors. Masao Tsuzuki was the leading Japanese authority on the biological effects of radiation and determined the different types of damage caused by the bombs and the effects on the human body. Find out more at Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission, 1945-1982.


image preview



Publication Date(s)





Dr. Samuel J. Kimura, Pearl Kimura, Harold Hiroshi Nishi, Richard Brewer, and Barbara [Geathard] gathered in a living room to sing together. See more at ABCC Photograph Collection and its finding aid.


Digital image made available by Texas Medical Center Library.


Hiroshima, Japan, Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission


Image Location